Chivalry Surprises!!

A few days back, when I was going out of the office, I held the office gate open for a lady, who was coming behind me. Chivalrous me!!!🙂

She was all prepared to sneak out through the gate, but I held it open for her, and she was surprised by my chivalry.

Her all set to sneak through the gate and my holding it open left her in a really awkward position.

She kept staring at me and I guess she was confused, on what to do next. Finally she went away, giving me a lovely smile.🙂

I had previously written about ‘No Chivalry’ types people found in my office.

This incident again made me think, is there a little chivalry left in the world that it surprises people?

10 thoughts on “Chivalry Surprises!!

  1. this is such a cute post!
    personally I don’t expect chivalry because I don’t see it around me. But let me add that I don’t disrespect a man because he is not chivalrous. What I disrespect is if anyone of any gender pushes and tries to get ahead of one instead of waiting for his/her turn, which is a lack of manners. I find men tend to do that as well as women. I don’t like it.

    🙂 Thanks Nita.

    I see too many people in my own office lacking manners..which is so sad.

  2. Well, that was nice of you!
    I’m still waiting for someone to hold open the door for me, for a change.

    Hey Duni!! Thanks for visting the blog.

    You will surely find someone someday, the world is not as bad as it looks.

    Keep Visiting!!

  3. i m over the moon to see u so chivalrous.

    i m proud of you.

    i can sense the sarcasm, and i feel you have read article published in times called ‘Me, Myself and I’, and hence the use of “i” instead of “I”.

  4. hahahaha… this actually shows the common behaviour of people… its actually a basic courtesy to hold a door open… and most people dont bother to do that.. and more so, they leave the door to bang the person coming behind them… hope we had more chivalrous people like you around😉

    I hope the same Karuna.

  5. Yes I guess I”ll be pleasantly surprised if someone holds the door open for me. Good thing to know U r one of the chivalrous men.

    Thanks for the compliments Reema🙂 🙂 .

  6. So finally you have started behaving like a gentleman[:D]..good…waiting for my turn now[:P]

    I am always a gentleman Rashmi… sure you will have your turn.

  7. Thats a good thought!🙂 but sometimes in my office i hold doors for my colleagues😉 😛 and they give me such sweet smiles or quizical look!🙂 🙂

    hmmm a chivalrous lady🙂 yea ppl get surprised sometimes when you do good things.

  8. hey bapat…
    thats a cute post….
    somethin similar hapend here this week ,wen a guy opened a door for me i was totally shocked ,smiled and thot to myself ‘o god chivalry is not dead ‘.
    and now i see this post 🙂
    gr8!

    Sharad: Hey Janet!! Indeed with people like me still there ‘o god chivalry is not dead ‘.🙂

Leave a Reply

